Strength in Vulnerability: Connecting through Humanity

Wesley Reader
3 min readJun 26, 2024
Photo by Vonecia Carswell on Unsplash

As a nurse, I have always believed that our ability to care for others is what gives us strength. But, over the years, I have realized that true strength can also be found in our vulnerability.

My journey began on a busy hospital floor, where the beeping of monitors and the hum of hurried footsteps became the soundtrack to my life. Each patient I met had a unique story, and I took pride in being the rock they could lean on. However, it was not until one particular night shift that I discovered my own inner strength.

Mrs. Andersen's admission occurred on a quiet evening. She was an elderly woman with a frail body and a spirit that shone brightly through her tired eyes. When she was diagnosed with a terminal illness, she maintained a calm demeanor that both inspired and perplexed me. As her nurse, I was determined to make her as comfortable as possible, but she ended up teaching me a valuable lesson.

As I sat by her bedside one night, Mrs. Andersen began to tell me about her life. She talked about love and loss, dreams realized and those left behind. Her voice, despite its weakness, had a powerful resonance. She was not afraid to express her fears, regrets, and hopes for the people she would leave behind. In her vulnerability, I discovered a strength I had never recognized before.

--

--

Wesley Reader

Acclaimed writer known for evocative storytelling and rich character development. My writing is characterized by lyrical prose and insightful exploration…